1. Skip to content

What is the Neighborhood Plan?

The Localism Act 2011 was passed to encourage decisions to be made by local people instead of everything being decided by remote Borough or District Councils. The act introduced Community Rights and Neighbourhood Planning.

In April 2014, Belper Town Council decided Belper should have its own Neighbourhood Plan covering the whole of the civil Parish of Belper. This includes Belper, Belper Lane End, Milford, Makeney, Broadholme, Blackbrook, Farnah Green etc.

Much of the Parish is within the Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site and this will have a significant impact on the plan for Belper.


The Working Group is made up of 4 Belper Town Councillors and 11 members of the public.

This is then broken down into the Officers and Facilitators of the Working Group who are as follows below.

Working Group Officers


Cllr Peter Hurst

Vice Chair

Katie Harris

Finance Officer

Cllr Tim Sutton

Communications Officer

James Kerry

Minutes Secretary

Wendy Mitchall

Plan Editor

Christine Blake

Working Group Facilitators

Built Environment and Housing

Roger Shelley

Transport and Travel

John Porter

Community and Leisure

Sally Fisher

Parks and Public Open Spaces

David Fisher

Local Economy and Employment

Christine Blake

Culture and Heritage

John Morrissey

Liaison with Belper Housing and Developments Interest Groups

Paul Terry


The members of the Neighborhood Working Group meet on the third Tuesday of each month at 7:30pm at St. John's Chapel, The Butts, Belper. Up coming meetings can be viewed here.

Members of the public are invited to attend the Working Group Meetings, and can speak if they wish. Please view The Belper Town Council public speaking guidelines

Agenda's and Minutes

Agenda's - Agenda's are published three working days before the meeting and can be found here.

Minutes - Daft minutes can be found here.

The Draft Neighborhood Plan Document

Once ready you are able to read the Draft Document HERE