Serving the people of Belper

Planning Committee Members

Cllr Katie Harris - Chair of Belper Town Council Planning Committee

Picture of Cllr Katie Harris

Cllr Mary Dwyer - Vice Chair of Belper Town Council Planning Committee

Picture of Cllr Mary Dwyer

Committee Members

Picture of Cllr Mallett

Cllr Simon Mallett

Picture of Cllr Dick Watson

Cllr Dick Watson

Picture of Cllr Steve Kennedy

Cllr Steve Kennedy

Co-opted Member Wendy Mitchell

Co-opted Member Helen Jackson

Planning Committee Terms of Reference

8 Members on Committee. Non Committee members welcome. Only Town Council Members to vote. Quorum 3 Members.

5 Town Council members on Committee at least one Councillor from each ward (These Councillors can not be planning board members at Amber Valley Borough Council).

Meetings to be chaired by a Town Council Member.

Actively engaging with developers who will work with Belper Town Council in advance of any formal planning application. Committee will invite them to refer to the Neighbourhood Plan.

Maximising the use of the Neighbourhood Plan and preparing reviews of the plan as required by regulation.

Will support local residents affected by development proposals and closely monitor decisions made by Amber Valley Borough Council.

The Committee will look at the material considerations and also list "non-material" concerns to ensure that the Planning Officer is aware of local issues.

To consider planning applications and to draft comments for submission to Amber Valley Borough Council. All draft comments must be agreed by Full Council at the next appropriate Council meeting

A recommending committee – all decisions to be recommended to Full Council

Meets 11 times within a year

Last updated: Thu, 08 Jul 2021 11:08